Jim Morrison

City of Light/City at Night

The Cosmic Vampire

Jim Morrison is one of the most interesting figures of the 20th century, whose music and lyrics continue to be relevant. He represents a post-Xian shamanistic-based spirituality that is stewing in the consciousness.

In “The Lost Boys,” a large poster of Jim Morrison hangs in the vampires cave. Jim Morrison stalked the streets of LA at night – city of light/city at night. The lyrics of LA Woman read “City of Light.” I always heard “City at Night.” That might not be a mistake, but rather a witchy glamour with an intentional double meaning.(1)

This summer, I visited Vietnam. I’ve studied a lot about the Vietnam/American War. I grew up hearing tales of it. So, I prepared a music mix of 60’s music to listen to in Vietnam. And yet, all of it seemed so distant, and the music didn’t really fit. The only thing that had any resonance was when I was on a daytime sleeper bus heading into the Central Highlands, and I was laying back in my seat, looking at the clouds descending over the mountains and cloud forests, listening to The Doors, wandering into a mystical land – heading to an Ashram actually. Ganesha has been worshipped in Vietnam for over 2000 years. “Black Train Song.” “Away, away, away in India. Well, I woke up this morning/Got the crossroads on my mind…Train, train/Come and gone/Took my baby/Away/Well I woke this morning/Nothing on my mind.”

My first conscious memory of The Doors was the opening scene of “Apocalypse Now,” which my Dad watched over and over again. That movie is bookended by “The End.” It represents a trip down a rabbit hole of insanity and darkness. I also once had a flashback of hearing The Doors at a party in the 70’s when I was about 2 years old. So, a few notes of Jim’s voice sends me to some cavernous places immediately.

(mp3 syncronicity – I took a break and walked the dogs – “Black Train Song” magically came on in the shuffle.)

I recently saw Jessica Lange’s cover of Lana Del Rey’s “Gods and Monsters” which includes the line:

No one’s gonna take my soul away
I’m living like Jim Morrison
Headed towards a fucked up holiday

Lana sees herself as a dark cabaret singer who may end up in the “27 Club.” Also, imagine the scene in American Horror Story, Jessica Lange’s character Elsa Mars, in Jupiter, Florida 1952 (Jim is a Jupiterian Sagittarius) is singing about the future of a 9 year old boy who is probably 100 miles away. Time is an illusion, after all.

On ‘Apocalypse Now’-have you noticed that every animated movie made in the last 10 years or so makes reference to this movie-“I love the smell of napalm in the morning.”

I found this interesting post on symbolism in “The Lost Boys.” :

http://beingthere723.blogspot.kr/2010/05/1st-off-film-is-called-lost-boys-in.html

Here are a couple of other posts on Jim:

https://d33goyr6pqlwpd.cloudfront.net/sites/thedoors/files/styles/community_post_image/public/community_images/170px-Yoonir-Symbole_de_l’Univers.jpeg?itok=_utmr8Tc

(WHEN THE TRUE KING’S MURDERERS ARE ALLOWED TO ROAM FREE A 1000 MAGICIAN ARISE IN THE LAND)
GREAT CREATOR OF BEING GRANT US ONE MORE HOUR TO PERFORM OUR ARTS & PERFECT OUR LIVES….

https://www.thedoors.com/users/monalisa-8988

http://mesfilmclub.com/new-wave-morrison-worshiping-vampires-music-youth-and-cool-in-the-lost-boys/

http://psychedelicsutra.blogspot.in/2013/08/jim-morrison-and-orphic-mysterious.html

– Jim Morrison and the Mysteries of Orpheus

Riders on the Storm

Thanks for the inspiration—http://tobedamit.com/?s=Jim+morrison

(1) Another Birth Path 1 Witch, Lady Gaga, says, “P-p-p (11x) Poker Face…F-f-f (11x) Fuck her face.” This is a play on words and a manipulation of sounds for the promotion of Dionysian sex rituals

3 comments

  1. Tobe Damit · November 11, 2014

    Awesome post my friend… I find it very disturdbing that it was Jim’ father who was one of the key actors in the VietNam War. The Tonkin Golfe incident has repeated itself over and over and it just did once again here in Canada. We are now at war and I think it sucks. I hate war.

    Like

    • woden13 · November 12, 2014

      Ok. I think I might be getting inspired again. Maybe we’ll get a paragraph out of this.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tobe Damit · November 12, 2014

        I’m so open to anything people think about this. Isn’t it something that Jim’s father was in such a key position as for the starting of the VietNam War…..”Father..Yes Son… I Want to Kill You…”

        Like

Leave a Reply

